Hear No Evil. See No Evil. Speak No Evil.

Image

“What other people think of me is none of my business.”

This is a quote I am borrowing from the lovely RuPaul. Lately, I’ve been doing some thinking and deep reflecting and I’ve come to realize a lot about others and myself. We often focus on the negatives of everything. Something that happened 10 years ago still lingers on our tongue like it happened yesterday. Many times, people choose to hold on to that negativity to begin to justify their actions. It should not be that way. Messed up things happen to us, but we can either become the victim or the victor. Overcoming an obstacle can teach us a lot about ourselves and reveal many strengths that we never even knew we had.

We all gossip, however, there is such a thing as too much gossip. Any time you are more invested in the life/lives of someone else, that means you are lacking something in your own life. A lot of the time people pray for someone’s downfall but wonder why they continue to succeed. The simple answer is this: THEY DON’T CARE WHAT YOU THINK! You care too much about what is going on in their lives that your own is in shambles. You can talk about her relationship choices but yours aren’t clearly there. Talk about his car while you’re pushing the bus pass. I’m not downplaying either one, but why do you care so much? What business is their life of yours? *crickets* Exactly. NONE. Stop wishing for someone else’s failure and start praying for your own success.

I’ve just been that way lately. Avoid what you don’t want to hear. If someone is constantly complaining about the same thing, ignore them because obviously they just want to complain. Some people just love to be miserable and want to drag you down with them. You CANNOT let them drag you down with them. What has always amused me is that these things are said when the person’s back is turned and they quickly deny. it. I have been dragged through the mud by people close to me, I have opened my mouth when I shouldn’t have and said things behind people’s backs. Yet the one thing I will not do is deny it. I can’t. Be upfront about it.

I’ve lately been living by the saying: If you can’t say anything nice, please kindly shut the fuck up. Simple, meaningful, and to the point. Spread positivity and uplift people. You can be honest without being rude.

 

Sidenote: I will be blogging & vlogging more because there is a laptop now. *CHEESE* I can get my business up and running again. Good things come to those who occupy their time and ask, believe, & receive.

Leave a Reply

