Day 4: Family

I may bicker, scream, kick, yell, but my family has been amazing. We have our disagreements, but we are there for each other. For me, family extends to close friends as well. I consider my boyfriend family. I just can’t ask for anything better. I have an extended family of stepbrothers and sisters. Family is more than blood relation. It’s a loving connection with people who return it. There are some people who I am related to that are just awful while I have friends who connect with me on a daily basis. I love that.


You don’t choose your family.  They are God’s gift to you, as you are to them.  ~Desmond Tutu

Remember that. While watching RuPaul’s Drag Race, it was so interesting and cool to hear people calling themselves family. It’s true. If I have never argued with you or even burped in front of you, you are not close to me. Period. I can tell my life story, but if I feel you are not close enough to see my vulnerability, it will not be shown.

Just cherish the family you have. It is true when it is said that it takes a village to raise a child. IF you know someone who feels as if they have no family, welcome them into yours or become family to them.

Leave a Reply

